Sunday, April 15, 2012

day job...

For the past two years I have been going to Chaffey and I'm starting to think that I'm just wasting my time. I love my photography classes but other than that, I HATE SCHOOL! I keep dropping my classes because I'm not interested in them and I am dreading taking classes like biology and more math classes. Lately I've been thinking about what I'm even doing there and been thinking about ALL (emphasis on ALL) the things I wanted to do over the years and thought about what is REALISTIC for ME. I was reminded of all the times I went to some sort of beauty school for information but never pursued it further than that. I never thought I would be able to afford it. The more I get into my photography classes, my teacher talks about how we need a day job because it's like a 5% chance that I would actually get a steady income from photography. Most of the work is freelance. So I've been wracking my brains about a day job, scared that I will be stuck working retail for the rest of my life or become some corporate tool. Today, when I went into Sally's beauty supply and then proceeded to make my hair AWESOME, I was reminded about how I used to want to do that for a profession and how all through high school I did everyone's hair. Then I thought, well why don't I? I can still do freelance photography plus I wouldn't need to hire a stylist for my models. But what about all I've done at Chaffey? Well, tomorrow I'm going to talk to my counselor about what I need to do to complete my certificate in Photography. I have an idea, but this way, it cuts out all the classes that will just waste my time, money, and energy. Tomorrow I'm also going to go back to one of the schools I inquired from a couple years ago because they accept the Fasfa (which I'm already approved for). When the next set of classes starts, I'd like to start. This means I will being doing Beauty School AND Chaffey. It's going to be hard but it should take less than a year at Beauty School and I've already given Chaffey two years and have gained very little. As a hair stylist I will still be able to do my photography, but I won't be freaking out over my income. So this time next year, I should be doing hair and makeup! I'm not going to let myself chicken out this time. I'm just going to do it. Who knows, maybe I'll be doing hair and make up for the "stars" someday, AND taking their headshots!! :P

No comments:

Post a Comment