Tuesday, December 27, 2011

a no good very bad day...

So this morning while on my way to work, I rear ended someone. I was getting off the freeway on the car in front of me started to move so I followed. As I followed, I looked to my left and in the 2 seconds I was looking, the car in front of me stopped. Next thing I know, BOOM! I hit her! She was in shock but was able to move over to the side and out of the way of traffic. Neither car had damage, but all I could think about is "I can't be late to work" (see previously posted blog about that story). So I gave her my info and left, foolishly not getting her info as well. I was pretty upset driving the rest of the way to work. Not because I hit someone, not because I didn't get her info, but because I knew I would be in trouble for being late. And sure enough I was. My manager says she "has to talk to HR and see what they instruct her to do". Look, I was in an accident, why you feel the need to make a big deal about my tardiness due to it is beyond me. She says because of my "excessive" attendance issues, that it's a serious problem I was late today. Ok, as if I wasn't already stressed out from the fact I hit someone, you have to threaten me too?! And again I need to say I should not have been written up for "attendance" on things like being sick or calling and asking to work early so I can leave early to take my cat to the vet. That is just cold hearted that she would consider that. Yes I take responsibility for the days I was just plain running late, but I don't feel I should be held responsible for the wind knocking trees over on the freeway and blocking traffic and certainly don't think I should be given a final write up because I was in a fender bender. I'm just curious as to who wrote her up for being late twice last week or being taking an extended lunch because she didn't feel good. If it were me, she'd write me up in a hot minute. So anyway, I asked her this morning if I was going to lose my job. She said "I hate when people ask those kind of questions on the sales floor. It makes it uncomfortable for everyone. I will talk to you in the back when someone else is working". I replied "That's a yes" and she said "Well it isn't good". So this is my mind set all day; I won't have a job much longer. We didn't say much more to each other for the rest of the day other than "where do you want me to hang these?" It wasn't until I was walking out the door when she said "See you Friday" and I said, "If I still have a job; please don't fire me". We then got into discussion about how she "has" to report it but she will explain to HR what happened and that it will most likely be a final warning but anything there after, I'm gone. ANYTHING, so if my car is stolen, I lose my job. If I get shot, I lose my job. If someone I know or myself dies, I lose my job. Ridiculous. I just hope I can find another job before I don't have one...

No comments:

Post a Comment